22/8/2014 17:45
RIA Novosti

Science

Russia Launches Canadian Telecoms Satellite

Proton-M carrier rocket (archive)
23:39 15/04/2013
Tags: Proton-M, Anik-G1, Roscosmos

MOSCOW, April 15 (RIA Novosti) - Russia’s Proton-M carrier rocket carrying a Canadian telecommunications satellite Anik-G1 blasted off on Monday from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan, the Russian Federal Space Agency Roscosmos reported.

“The Proton-M carrier rocket lifted off as scheduled – at 10.36 pm Moscow time [18:36 GMT],” Roscosmos said. “The separation of the Anik-G1 satellite from the Briz-M booster is expected at 07.49 am Moscow time [03:49 GMT] on Tuesday.”

Anik-G1 is a commercial communications satellite built by Space Systems/Loral for Canadian satellite operator Telesat.

The satellite carries 24 C-band transponders, 28 Ku-band transponders and 3 X-band transponders.

It will double C- and Ku-band capacity over South America, provide additional DTH services in extended Ku-band and provide military X-band coverage of the Americas and substantial portions of the Pacific Ocean, according to a mission statement by launch operator International Launch Services Inc. (ILS), which is a subsidiary of Russia’s Khrunichev State Research and Production Space Center.

The satellite has a service life of 15 years.

 

  • Add to blog
  • Send to friend
  • Share

Add to blog

You may place this material on your blog by copying the link.

Publication code:

Preview:

RIA NovostiProton-M carrier rocket (archive)Russia Launches Canadian Telecoms Satellite

23:39 15/04/2013 Russia’s Proton-M carrier rocket carrying a Canadian telecommunications satellite Anik-G1 blasted off on Monday from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan, the Russian Federal Space Agency Roscosmos reported.>>

Send by e-mail

All fields are required!




Leave a comment

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru
    © 2014  RIA Novosti
    Some material may be inappropriate for those under 18