SpyLOG
24/4/2014 5:01
RIA Novosti

Science

Russia Launches Mexican Telecoms Satellite

23:15 26/03/2013
Tags: Briz-M booster, Yamal-402, Baikonur space center, Proton-M, Roscosmos

BAIKONUR (Kazakhstan), March 26 (RIA Novosti) – Russia’s Proton-M carrier rocket carrying a Mexican telecommunications satellite blasted off on Tuesday from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan, the Russian Federal Space Agency Roscosmos reported.

The launch of the Satmex-8 satellite was initially scheduled for December 27, but was postponed following the Yamal-402 satellite trouble which involved a glitch in Proton-M’s Briz-M booster.

“The Proton launch was carried out as scheduled – at 23:06 Moscow time [7:06 p.m. GMT]. The separation of the spacecraft from the Briz-M booster is slated for 08:19 Moscow time [4:19 a.m. GMT] on Wednesday, March 27,” a Roscosmos spokesman said.

Satmex-8, operated by Mexican Satellites Mexicanos S.A. de C.V. (Satmex), is a high-power C and Ku-band satellite that replaces Satmex-5 and will provide Fixed Satellite Services (FSS) in both North and South America.

The new satellite, which has a service life of 15 years, will augment the current Satmex fleet in providing services such as broadband, voice and data transmission, and video broadcasting.

 

  • Add to blog
  • Send to friend
  • Share

Add to blog

You may place this material on your blog by copying the link.

Publication code:

Preview:

RIA NovostiRussia Launches Mexican Telecoms Satellite

23:15 26/03/2013 Russia’s Proton-M carrier rocket carrying a Mexican telecommunications satellite blasted off on Tuesday from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan, the Russian Federal Space Agency Roscosmos reported.>>

Send by e-mail

All fields are required!



Leave a comment

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru  Rambler's Top100
    © 2014  RIA Novosti
    Some material may be inappropriate for those under 18