24/10/2014 0:35
RIA Novosti

Science

Russia Puts US Telecoms Satellite in Orbit

07:54 21/11/2012
Tags: EchoStar-16, satellite, United States, Russia

MOSCOW, November 21 (RIA Novosti) - Russia’s Proton-M carrier rocket put the US EchoStar-16 telecommunications satellite in the designated orbit on Wednesday, a Roscosmos spokesman said.

“The spacecraft separated from the Briz-M launch vehicle at 7:43 Moscow time [3:43 GMT],” he said.

The rocket blasted off from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan at 22:31 Moscow time (18:31 GMT).

Equipped with 32 Ku-band transponders, EchoStar-16 was designed by Space Systems/Loral to provide expanded services to more than 14 million direct-to-home television subscribers in the United States. It has a life span of 15 years.

It is the 10th Proton launch this year and the 76th since commercial operations began in 1996. The launch vehicle has been used to orbit five EchoStar payloads.

 

  • Add to blog
  • Send to friend
  • Share

Add to blog

You may place this material on your blog by copying the link.

Publication code:

Preview:

RIA NovostiEchoStar-16Russia Puts US Telecoms Satellite in Orbit

07:54 21/11/2012 Russia’s Proton-M carrier rocket put the US EchoStar-16 telecommunications satellite in the designated orbit on Wednesday, a Roscosmos spokesman said.>>

Send by e-mail

All fields are required!




Leave a comment

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru
    © 2014  RIA Novosti
    Some material may be inappropriate for those under 18