SpyLOG
23/4/2014 10:42
RIA Novosti

Science

Next Space Station’s Expedition Set for Launch from Baikonur

Topic: International Space Station

Soyuz TMA spacecraft docked with ISS
03:47 23/10/2012
BAIKONUR SPACE CENTER (Kazakhstan), October 23 (RIA Novosti)
Tags: International Space Station, Soyuz TMA-06M, Roscosmos, Kazakhstan

Russia’s Soyuz TMA-06M spacecraft with the International Space Station’s (ISS) Expedition 33/34 is set for the launch from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan on Tuesday afternoon, a spokesman for the Russian space agency Roscosmos said.

“The launch of the carrier rocket Soyuz-FG with the piloted spacecraft Soyuz TMA-06M is scheduled for October 23 at 14:51 Moscow time [10:51 GMT],” the spokesman said.

The separation of the piloted spacecraft from the third and final stage of the Soyuz-FG carrier rocket is slated for 15:00 Moscow time (11:00 GMT). The docking of the Soyuz TMA-06M with the ISS is scheduled for October 25 at 16:51 Moscow time (12:51 GMT) in an automated mode.

The ISS Expedition 33/34 comprises two Russian cosmonauts - Commander Oleg Novitsky and Flight Engineer Yevgeny Tarelkin; as well as NASA astronaut - Flight Engineer Kevin Ford.

This will be Novitsky and Tarelkin's first time in space; however, Ford already has space experience, flying on an American shuttle in 2009. This will be the first time Ford travels to the ISS on a Russian Soyuz rocket.

They will join the current crew consisting of NASA astronaut Sunita Williams, Russian cosmonaut Yury Malenchenko and Japan’s Akihiko Hoshide.

 

  • Add to blog
  • Send to friend
  • Share

Add to blog

You may place this material on your blog by copying the link.

Publication code:

Preview:

RIA NovostiSoyuz TMA spacecraft docked with ISSNext Space Station’s Expedition Set for Launch from Baikonur

03:47 23/10/2012 Russia’s Soyuz TMA-06M spacecraft with the International Space Station’s (ISS) Expedition 33/34 is set for the launch from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan on Tuesday afternoon.>>

Send by e-mail

All fields are required!



Leave a comment

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru  Rambler's Top100
    © 2014  RIA Novosti
    Some material may be inappropriate for those under 18