SpyLOG
29/7/2014 20:49
RIA Novosti

Science

Russia Launches Proton-M Rocket with Arab Telecoms Satellite

Proton-M carrier rocket
03:01 24/04/2012
MOSCOW, April 24 (RIA Novosti)
Tags: Baikonur space center, Proton-M, Roscosmos, Kazakhstan

A Proton-M carrier rocket with the YahSat 1B telecommunications satellite on board has been launched from the Baikonur Space Center in Kazakhstan, Russia’s Federal Space Agency Roscosmos said.

“The launch took place at the set time,” a Roscosmos spokesman said. “The separation of the satellite from the Briz-M upper stage is scheduled for 11:30 a.m. Moscow time [07:30 GMT].”

The launch, which occurred at 02:18 a.m. Moscow time on Tuesday (22:18 GMT Monday), had been approved by a special government commission on Monday.

The YahSat-1B satellite was built by Astrium/Thales Alenia Space consortium for the Al Yah Satellite Communications Company (United Arab Emerites).

The 6-ton satellite carries Ka-band transponders for commercial and military communications.

  • Add to blog
  • Send to friend
  • Share

Add to blog

You may place this material on your blog by copying the link.

Publication code:

Preview:

RIA NovostiProton-M carrier rocketRussia Launches Proton-M Rocket with Arab Telecoms Satellite

03:01 24/04/2012 A Proton-M carrier rocket with the YahSat 1B telecommunications satellite on board has been launched from the Baikonur Space Center in Kazakhstan, Russia’s Federal Space Agency Roscosmos said.>>

Send by e-mail

All fields are required!




Leave a comment

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru  Rambler's Top100
    © 2014  RIA Novosti
    Some material may be inappropriate for those under 18