25/10/2014 3:53
RIA Novosti

Science

Russia's Soyuz TMA-21 with new ISS crew launched from Baikonur

The new ISS crew consists of Russians Alexander Samokutyayev and Andrei Borisenko, and U.S. astronaut Ronald Garan
03:12 05/04/2011

Russia's Soyuz TMA-21 piloted spacecraft has been launched early on Tuesday to the International Space Station.

The spacecraft atop a Soyuz-FG carrier rocket blasted off at 2:18 Moscow time (22:18 GMT Monday) from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan.

The Soyuz TMA-21 has later reached its designated orbit after separating from the carrier rocket and is scheduled to dock with the ISS on April 7 at 3:18 Moscow time (23:18 GMT, April 6).

The new ISS crew consists of Russians Alexander Samokutyayev and Andrei Borisenko, and U.S. astronaut Ronald Garan.

They will join the current crew comprising Russian cosmonaut Dmitry Kondratyev, European Space Agency astronaut Paolo Nespoli and NASA astronaut Catherine Coleman.

The launch of the TMA-21, named 'Gagarin' to commemorate the 50th anniversary of Yury Gagarin's space flight, was originally scheduled for March 30 but was postponed due to technical problems.

 

BAIKONUR (Kazakhstan), April 5 (RIA Novosti)

  • Add to blog
  • Send to friend
  • Share

Add to blog

You may place this material on your blog by copying the link.

Publication code:

Preview:

RIA NovostiThe new ISS crew consists of Russians Alexander Samokutyayev and Andrei Borisenko, and U.S. astronaut Ronald GaranRussia's Soyuz TMA-21 with new ISS crew launched from Baikonur

03:12 05/04/2011 Russia's Soyuz TMA-21 piloted spacecraft has been launched early on Tuesday to the International Space Station.>>

Send by e-mail

All fields are required!




Leave a comment

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru
    © 2014  RIA Novosti
    Some material may be inappropriate for those under 18