SpyLOG
24/4/2014 12:26
RIA Novosti

Science

Russian spacecraft successfully orbits 3 Glonass satellites

Glonass - the Global Navigation Satellite System - is the Russian equivalent of the U.S. Global Positioning System, or GPS
06:05 02/03/2010

A Proton-M carrier rocket has successfully orbited three Glonass satellites, a spokesman for the Space Forces said on Tuesday.

The Proton-M carrier rocket bearing three satellites was launched from the Baikonur space center in Kazakhstan on March 2 at 0:19 Moscow time (22:19 GMT, March 1).

Alexei Zolotukhin said that stable telemetric communication was established with the satellites, which were orbited at 3:51 Moscow time (0:51 GMT).

Glonass - the Global Navigation Satellite System - is the Russian equivalent of the U.S. Global Positioning System, or GPS, and is designed for both military and civilian use. Both systems allow users to determine their positions to within a few meters.

Russia currently has a total of 22 Glonass satellites in orbit, but only 16 of them are operational. The system requires 18 operational satellites for continuous navigation services covering the entire territory of Russia and at least 24 satellites to provide navigation services worldwide.

MOSCOW, March 2 (RIA Novosti)

 

  • Add to blog
  • Send to friend
  • Share

Add to blog

You may place this material on your blog by copying the link.

Publication code:

Preview:

RIA NovostiGlonass - the Global Navigation Satellite System - is the Russian equivalent of the U.S. Global Positioning System, or GPSRussian spacecraft successfully orbits 3 Glonass satellites

06:05 02/03/2010 A Proton-M carrier rocket has successfully orbited three Glonass satellites, a spokesman for the Space Forces said.>>

Send by e-mail

All fields are required!



Leave a comment

    Рейтинг@Mail.ru  Rambler's Top100
    © 2014  RIA Novosti
    Some material may be inappropriate for those under 18